ANC’s Mayoral Candidates Announced

ANC Mayoral Candidates List Released

The African National Congress released its final mayoral candidates list on Saturday. In a statement the ANC said that it is satisfied and confident that mayoral candidates on the list consists of some of the best comrades amongst the ranks to advance our programme of radical socio-economic transformation.

“The ANC calls on all its structures and our communities to support them as they lead us to an overwhelming victory for the ANC in the Local Government elections. We extend our gratitude to many of our comrades who are currently serving as Mayors for their loyal service to the movement and the people of South Africa.”

“The ANC has been on the ground interacting with our people across the length and breadth of our country. We have no doubt that South Africans, in their overwhelming majority, will renew the mandate of the ANC to build on the solid foundation over the last 15 years of democratic local governance.” read ANC statement.

Here are ANC mayoral candidates:

Metropolitan Municipalities

Mangaung Metropolitan Municipality: Cde Olly Mlamleli

Buffalo City Metropolitan Municipality: Cde Xola Pakati

Nelson Mandela Metropolitan Municipality: Cde Danny Jordan

City of Cape Town: Cde Xolani Sotashe

City of Ekurhuleni: Cde Mzwandile Masina

City of Joburg: Cde Parks Tau

eThekwini Metropolitan Municipality: Cde Zandile Gumede

City of Tshwane: XXXXXXXX

Other Municipalities

Free State

Mangaung Metropolitan Municipality
Olly Mlamleli (Female)

Fezile Dabi District Municipality
Oumix Oliphant (Female)

Metsimaholo Local Municipality
Brutus Mahlaku (Male)

Lejweleputswa District Municipality
Sebenzile Ngangelizwe (Male)

Matjhabeng Local Municipality
Nkosinjani Speelman (Male)

Thabo Mofutsanyana District Municipality
Malefu Vilakazi (Female)

Xhariep District Municipality
Motshewa Sehanka (Female)

Eastern Cape

Alfred Nzo District Municipality
Sixolile Mehlomakhulu (Male)

Amathole District Municipality
Winnie Nokhwezi Xawa (Female)

Chris Hani District Municipality
Kholiswa Vimbayo (Female)

Buffalo City Metropolitan Municipality
Xola Pakati (Male)

Joe Gqabi District Municipality
Zibonele Dumzela (Male)

Nelson Mandela Metropolitan Municipality
Danny Jordaan (Male)

OR Tambo District Municipality
Nomakhosazana Meth (Female)

Sarah Baartman District Municipality
Khunjuzwa Eunice Kekana (Female)


Capricorn District Municipality
John Mpe (Male)

Polokwane Local Municipality
Thembisile Nkadimeng (Female)

Sekhukhune District Municipality
Stan Ramaila (Male)

Greater Tubatse Local Municipality

Mopani District Municipality
Nkakareng Rakgoale (Female)

Greater Tzaneen Local Municipality
Maripe Mangena (Male)

Waterberg District Municipality
Morris Mataboge (Male)

Mogalakwena Local Municipality
Andrina Matsemela (Female)

Lephalale Local Municipality
Moloko Jack Maeko (Male)

Vhembe District Municipality
Florence Radzilani (Female)

Musina Local Municipality
Ethel Mihloti Muhlope (Female)


Ehlanzeni District Municipality
Jester Sidel (Female)

Steve Tshwete Municipality
Mike Masina (Male)

Mbombela Local Municipality
Sibusiso Mathonsi (Female)

Nkangala District Municipality
Linah Malatjie (Female)

Gert Sibande District Municipality
Muzi Chirwa (Male)

Emalahleni Local Municipality
Lindiwe Ntshalintshali (Female)

Govan Mbeki Local Municipality
Ethel Maboa-Boltman (Female)

Western Cape
City of Cape Town
Xolani Sotashe (Male)


City of Ekurhuleni
Mzwandile Masina (Male)

City of Johannesburg
Parks Tau (Male)

Mogale City Local Municipality
Peace Mabe (Female)

West Rand District Municipality
Boyce Maneli (Male)

Emfuleni Local Municipality
Simon Mofokeng (Male)

Sedibeng District Municipality
Busisiwe Modisakeng (Female)

Lesedi Local Municipality
Lerato Maloka (Female)

Midvaal Local Municipality
Tefo Stefans Molakeng

North West

Bojanala District Municipality
Fetsang Mokati

Rustenburg Local Municipality
Mpho Khunou

Madibeng Local Municipality
Jostine Mothibe

Ngaka Modiri Molema District Municipality
Justice Makolomakwa

Mahikeng Local Municipality
Betty Diakanyo

Dr. Ruth Segomotsi Mompati District Municipality
Boitumelo Mahlangu

Dr. Kenneth Kaunda District Municipality
Barei Segotso

Matlosana Local Municipality
Washington Ntozini

Municipality 405 (Tlokwe/Ventersdorp)
Khotso Khumalo


Zululand District Municipality
Innocent Sipho Nkosi

Uthukela District Municipality
Siphiwe Mazibuko

Solomon Mkhombo

Siduduzo Gumede (Male)

Harry Gwala District Municipality
Mluleki Ndobe

Mzinyathi District Municipality
Lindokuhle Ngubane

Ugu District Municipality
Tolomane Mnyayiza

uThungulu District Municipality
Nonhle Mkhulisi

Themba Njilo




Day Quote: To deny people their human right is to challenge their humanity